Initiative ELEKTRO+

Foundation earthing

The basic prerequisite for a safe electrical system is its earthing. For this reason energy suppliers, in their technical stipulations concerning connnections, and the standard DIN 18015-1 both specify that foundation earthing must be installed in new buildings.

In addition, foundation earthing can perform universal functions for other household systems, e.g. for communication systems, for antennae and for lightning conductors.

Construction

The construction of foundation earthing is regulated in the standard DIN 18014. It is fitted as a closed ring in the exterior part of the foundations of the building. If using a foundation plate system, the earthing should be laid as a complete circuit in the outer walls of the foundation. In all cases the foundation earthing circuit must be so installed that it is completely surrounded by concrete. This prevents erosion and ensures a virtually unlimited operating life.

Connection terminals

Connection terminals make it possible to establish links to the foundation earthing. These terminals consist of connector strips and connector plates. The connector strips lead through from the foundation earthing to the mains connection point in the house. The length of the connector strips, measured from their entry into the room, should be at least 1.5 metres. For concrete walls it is best to use a connector plate fused into the wall to link the earthing to the electrical system.

Responsibility

The foundation earthing is a component of the electrical system and the building owner or architect is responsible for organising its construction. It must be taken into account right from the start of the project when estimates for work on the structure of the building are being considered. The installation of the foundation earthing must be overseen by a construction engineer, a consultant electrical engineer or a specialist in lightning protection.

Modern construction techniques

In energy-efficient houses (with under-structure perimeter insulation) or in buildings with a seal against ground water (use of water-impermeable concrete) standard foundation earthing does not usually function. Its effectiveness can be determined by taking measurements through the electrical system. If the earthing is found to be defective the land around the exterior of the building must be dug up and a ring earthing system made of stainless steel should be installed. This then assumes the role of the foundation earthing.

To avoid such additional and unplanned costs the ELEKTRO+ Initiative offers a comprehensive brochure outlining the range of installation techniques for foundation earthing systems. This publication can be ordered or downloaded free of charge by clicking on the link.

Foundation Earthing Brochure, order free of charge ... (German)

Initiative ELEKTRO+

Der Fundamenterder

Grundvoraussetzung für eine sichere Elektroanlage ist das Erdungssystem einer Elektroinstallation. Deshalb verlangen auch die Technischen Anschlussbedingungen (TAB) der Energieversorger sowie die DIN 18015-1 den Einbau eines Fundamenterders in Neubauten.

Zusätzlich kann der Fundamenterder auch Erdungsaufgaben für Kommunikations-, Anntennen- und Blitzschutzanlagen übernehmen.

Ausführung

Die Ausführung des Fundamenterders regelt DIN 18014. Er ist als geschlossener Ring in die Außenfundamente des Gebäudes einzubringen. Bei Fundamentplatten ist der Fundamenterder im Bereich der Außenmauern als geschlossener Ring zu verlegen. Der Fundamenterder muss in der Bodenplatte so installiert werden, dass er allseitig von Beton umschlossen ist. Dadurch ist er gegen Korrosion geschützt und hat dann eine nahezu unbegrenzte Lebensdauer.

Anschlussteile

Die Anschlussteile ermöglichen es, Anschlüsse an den Fundamenterder vorzunehmen. Hierzu zählen Anschlussfahnen und Anschlussplatten (Erdungsfestpunkte). Die Anschlussfahne des Fundamenterders ist an der Hausanschlusswand oder -nische herauszuführen. Die Länge der Anschlussfahne soll ab Eintrittsstelle in den Raum mindestens 1,5 m betragen. Bei betonierten Wänden eignet sich am besten ein Erdungsfestpunkt, der als Anschlussplatte in die Wand eingegossen wird, für die Verbindung des Fundamenterders zur elektrischen Anlage.

Zuständigkeit

Der Fundamenterder ist Bestandteil der Elektroanlage. Bauherr oder Architekt haben das Verlegen zu veranlassen. Bereits bei der Ausschreibung der Rohbauarbeiten muss der Fundamenterder berücksichtigt werden. Das Errichten des Fundamenterders hat durch eine Elektro-, Blitzschutzfachkraft oder durch eine Baufachkraft unter Aufsicht einer Elektro- oder Blitzschutzfachkraft zu erfolgen.

Moderne Bauweise

Bei Niedrigenergiebauweise (Perimeterdämmung unter der Bodenplatte) und Gebäuden mit Abdichtungen gegen Grundwasser (Verwendung von wasserundurchlässigem Beton) erweist sich die Standardverlegung des Fundamenterders meist als unwirksam. Die Wirksamkeit des Fundamenterders wird durch die Abnahmemessung der Elektroinstallation dokumentiert. Sollte der Fundamenterder unwirksam sein, muss das Erdreich um die Außenmauern ausgebaggert und ein Ringerder aus Edelstahl eingebracht werden. Dieser muss nun die Funktion des Fundamenterders übernehmen.

Damit solche nachträglichen Kosten erst gar nicht entstehen, hat die Initiative ELEKTRO+ eine Broschüre mit allen Installationsvarianten des Fundamenterders verfasst. Architekten, Bauherren, Elektroplaner und Elektrofachbetriebe können die Broschüre Fundamenterder unter dem folgenden Link bestellen.

Broschüre Fundamenterder bestellen ...