Initiative ELEKTRO+

Fire protection

You can’t run from fire

“If a fire starts in my house I will notice and have enough time to get out!” Wrong! Most victims of fire suffocate in the smoke; they are often caught unaware whilst sleeping.

Do you really want to expose your family to this risk? By installing smoke alarms, that can be fitted either during house construction or afterwards without great effort, the risk can be minimised. You will have peace of mind and can sleep safely.

The overloading of electrical circuits represents a hidden fire hazard. For example: the washing machine and dryer are running at the same time; several electrical appliances are in use together in the kitchen or a single power point in the living room is linked via a multi-socket connector to the television, DVD player, radio, CD player and the computer with screen and printer. Unfortunately the wiring system is not designed for this sort of electrical load.

The normal and safest consequence of such an overload is that the miniature circuit breaker trips. However, an inadequate or underdimensioned electrical system can cause cables to overheat and smoulder, resulting in fire. The catastrophic blaze in the Anna Amalia Library in Weimar vividly illustrated this problem.

Remember: electrical circuits should be appropriately dimensioned to meet requirements.

PDF-Download ELEKTRO+ “Smoke detectors” (German)

Initiative ELEKTRO+

Brandschutz

Weglaufen geht nicht

Ich habe noch genügend Zeit, um bei einem Brand das Haus zu verlassen! Ein Feuer bekomme ich schon rechtzeitig mit! Irrtum! Die meisten Opfer von Bränden ersticken am Rauch. Und dieser kann uns im Schlaf überraschen, ohne dass wir es bemerken.

Wollen Sie sich und ihre Familie wirklich diesem Risiko aussetzen? Durch die Installation von Rauchmeldern, die auch nachträglich ohne großen Aufwand möglich ist, bekommen Sie dieses Risiko in den Griff und können beruhigt schlafen.

Doch auch überlastete Stromkreise bergen Brandgefahr in sich. Waschmaschine und Trockner sollen zusammen laufen, alle Küchengeräte sind im Betrieb oder an der Einfachsteckdose im Wohnzimmer ist eine Mehrfachsteckdose angeschlossen und daran hängen Fernseher, DVD-Player, Radio, CD-Spieler und der Rechner mit Bildschirm und Drucker. Nur leider sind die Leitungen nicht für diese Belastungen ausgelegt.

“Fliegt die Sicherung raus”, ist dies der günstige Fall. Ist der Stromkreis jedoch nicht richtig dimensioniert, kann es auch zu einem Kabelbrand und damit zum Hausbrand kommen. Das Beispiel der Anna Amalia Bibliothek in Weimar haben wir noch alle vor Augen. Also an ausreichende und richtig dimensionierte Stromkreise denken!